Is that a tin foil hat you’re wearing?

Is this catchy?

Catch a smile, pass it on!

I was telling my manager this afternoon that a few years ago, we had a blizzard-like snow storm on April 1st and none of us were laughing.  My manager chuckled at this because he’s a resident of Texas even though he works in the New Hampshire facility of the parent company.  I made this remark to him after begrudgingly acknowledging that it was, in fact, snowing yet again today.  My manager, just returning this week from Texas is tan and jokingly enjoyed “rubbing it in” about his 80 degree temperatures he was enjoying while working from home the previous two weeks.  Luckily I have a cordial relationship with my manager and was able to frown at him and say “shut up” without penalty.  He walked away laughing.  Figures.

Since spring finally spung last weekend, anything but spring like weather has been descending upon us and temperatures are below “normal.”  I don’t know about you, but after three long months of winter and slowly succumbing to “cabin fever,” I’m done with Mother Nature’s joke of snow and more snow.  Bring on spring in earnest please!

I often joke that “I need sunlight to grow!” when it comes to appreciating warmer temperatures and sunny skies, which lately has been scarce and in high demand;  not only for me, but for many others as well.  Some even succumb to seasonal depression as a result of a lengthy winter.  Fortunately, I am not among the depressed, but I am among the impatient!  I *do* need sunlight to grow.  I love the feeling of warm sunshine on my face, a warm breeze dancing through my hair and suddenly I’m developing a skip in my step and a smile spreads across my face.  It’s all good and I’m just waiting….

Health encompasses much more than just the physical needs of the body to not only grow and defend against disease; we also need to have a healthy outlook on life through an uplifted spirit and a mind that is at peace.  Without these factors, other parts of our quality of life can suffer dramatically. 

 Think about what brings you down.  Under what conditions is your proverbial “button” pushed and you are set off in a negative direction?  How do you mitigate those conditions so they are minimized and less frequent?  These are things a person should consider when trying to reduce the emotional and spiritual stress they encounter in life.  This would include stress in the workplace and with coworkers, stress from what has been coined as “toxic relationships” and financial stressors as well.  All of these play a part in our ability to cope emotionally and spiritually in life. 

There is a proverb that states, “The power of life and death is in the tongue.”  I believe that this is very true on many levels.  How often does a negative word, statement or emotion spread?  How far reaching are the consequences?  Not only that, but if said frequently enough, what kind of lasting impact does that entail?  Many of our youth in society struggle with the negative in life (bullying to name a biggie) and some don’t make it. 

On the flip side of this is how often does something positive spread?  You can often look at a person and see in an instant’s perception on whether they are regularly positive or regularly negative and its usually confirmed at the first instance of their opening their mouth.  People tend to flock to positive people, people who resonate an uplifting spirit.  I have been known to seek out people I know who are gifted in encouragement, especially when I need encouragement.  And that’s okay.  It’s even better to spread that encouragement yourself.  Sometimes it takes practice to be positive, and as many of you know, “practice makes perfect.” 

I don’t know about you, but I want to live a life that is known for being positive, encouraging and helpful.  It is so much more rewarding than the old adage of “misery loves company.”  I heard a song today on the way home whose chorus lyrics went:  “it’s not who you know, it’s not what you do, it’s how you live your life.”  If you were to pass away tomorrow; how would people left behind remember you?  Are you satisfied with that legacy?  If not, practice, practice, practice….

About stephsquared2010

A Mom of two boys. A wife to one man :-). A buyer by day, but a Reliv distributor by night. Looking to help others' standard of health, bring awareness to health issues, and bring financial opportunities to those who want it!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

