Half Marathon Number 2!

Our first half marathon in Nashville 2007

Reaching for half marathon #2!

In February, I committed to running another half marathon with my best friend, Heather.  She is more like a sister than a best friend and we ran the 2007 Music City Half Marathon together in Nashville.  Neither one of us was really trained for that half marathon, but we did it anyway and we loved it.  Our goal was the cross the finish line without the aid of anyone else or an ambulance (for that matter).  We did.  Even now, as I type this blog, I am smiling at the memories.  The half marathon was combined with a full marathon and there were tens of thousands of participants in the combined event and it started at 8am, bright and early!

After the half marathon we went back to her place, took our 10 minute ice cold baths (as we were advised to do for muscle recovery) and then we napped… and napped and napped.  We awoke sometime later, and decided to make an evening in “Nash Vegas.”  We were sore but happy.  It is for this reason that I know that it’s a person’s spirit that can overcome nearly anything, even physical trauma (as was probably our case! LOL).

Enjoying a night on the town

The Night before the half marathon

Right after we finished the marathon we both felt like the walking dead, but we had smiles on our faces and we knew we’d probably do another one again together.  It’s been a few years since then and we’ve decided to commit to the half marathon here in Manchester, NH in early November.  It is a stark difference than the Music City half marathon in many ways:  more hills, New England, probably no music, and of course colder air.  So we’ll have to see how we do this time.  I think our goal is to finish in under 3 hours.  It’s a modest goal that I think we can accomplish, especially with our commitment to train better for this one.

The snow from this winter wasn’t willing to give up its hold on us in March like ususal, and brought a few snowstorms into April on us which prevented me from getting my treadmill out of storage and get it in place to begin training as soon as I wanted.  But now, with the treadmill out of storage, in place and a plan from active.com, I have earnest begun the first phase of my training as of last week.  The couch-to-5K training plan is a beginner’s plan (and unfortunately I need it) and one has to start somewhere.  I’m not sure what the plan is after I’ve completed the 9 week couch-to-5K plan, but I have 8 weeks to figure that out.

I’d like to think that by the time November does roll around, that I will have had enough training to successfully jog at least half the distance of the half marathon without walking at all.  The last half, who knows?  But we’ll see how I do.  Not only am I challenged with keeping to a workout schedule, but also losing weight and mitigating my bronchial asthma as I go.  So challenges everywhere I look, but I’m up to it!  Maybe through all this training and losing weight, my bronchial asthma will ease up.  I know that if I am faithful to using my Reliv products throughout, I won’t have any problems when I jump off that start line in November.

I am keeping track of my progress on the Team Reliv exercise challenge matrix under my Reliv distributor log on.  Reliv offers incentives to its distributors and registered customers to get active with the Team and offers prizes.  I’m not necessarily looking for any prizes, just meeting my goals and getting healthier.  If you would like to participate in Team Reliv’s Fitness Club challenge too, you can.  Check it out by clicking here.  You do not have to sign up to be a distributor but you do need a logon.  I would encourage you to join the group by either contacting myself (thru my Facebook or via email) or checking out the website to get a logon.  You will need to reference my Distributor “RCN#” as I am the one referring you (Reliv wants to be sure proper credit is given for the reference; they’re good like that.).  My distributor RCN# is 7562723001.

Here is a screen shot of my Fitness Club tracker if you’re interested.  Note the “Exercise” “Weight Loss” and “BMI” tabs all of which you can keep track of and it puts it into a graph for you!

Screenshot of Progress Matrix

My personal Team Reliv progress Matrix

 

I’m excited to finally have a fitness goal and a partner to achieve it with.  The online tools with Reliv are making it easy to track my progress in a visual way while I journal my progress in private at home.  I journal not only the exercise data, my Reliv shakes for the day, but also my feelings, emotions, the things that would normally trigger emotional eating habits of old.  I’m told that journaling these things really helps put the mirror up to ourselves and see what we’re doing.  I need that accountability.

Even if you’re not training for a marathon, 10K or a 5K and you’re just walking several times a week to get healthy, log it!  You’ll be amazed at how you can see your progress shaping you up.  And in a few weeks, you can pat yourself on the back for a job well done (but incomplete).  Maintaining a healthy lifestyle is like keeping healthy teeth.  You have to do it every day, every week, every month and every year to be able to enjoy life at your healthiest.

If you’ve never walked, jogged, or run in an event, I encourage you to give it a try.  They are almost always for a good cause/charity, and the feeling you get for crossing the finish line is amazing.  It’s good for the community and good for your soul!

Happy Spring weekend to everyone!

Steph

About stephsquared2010

A Mom of two boys. A wife to one man :-). A buyer by day, but a Reliv distributor by night. Looking to help others' standard of health, bring awareness to health issues, and bring financial opportunities to those who want it!
This entry was posted in Health and wellness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

