Be of Good Cheer!

April showers bring May flowers…. or in our case, may flies!  Spring is finally here!  I have daffodils blooming in my front yard (they grow despite my black thumb, God bless’m!).  I love spring.  New life comes forth from the cold, dark brown earth of the melted snows of winter.  Spring is my favorite followed closely by autumn.  It’s a reasonable season:  not too hot, not too cold, not too many bugs and just plain comfortable!  How can ya hate it?

Memorial Day will be here before we know it (I love long weekends!) and I’m looking forward to the extended weekend where I can celebrate my husband’s birthday in conjunction with the holiday.  I’m hoping to take him out to dinner – someplace nice where we have to dress up a little bit.  I’d love to don the red dress I married him in and be as beautiful as I can be (feeling a tad inspired by the royal wedding, I guess).  I’m hoping by the end of May, I’ll have dropped a few more pounds and toned up some more so that red dress will look fantastic and he’ll be proud that I’m his wife (he already is, but I would like to add a exclamation point to it, if you know what I mean).

Ron and I on our wedding day

Married in our back yard on 4th of July

If you haven’t been following me on Facebook, I have been posting my meager progress (but progress none-the-less) of my training for my half marathon that I will be running towards the end of this year.  Currently I’m starting off “at the beginning” with the Couch-to-5K plan and then graduating to something bigger after that.  I’ve also been using Reliv Simplicity to lose weight and I’ve lost a few pounds since starting about 3-4 weeks ago.   I’ve lost about 4 inches total in the four body areas I measure so far, so I’m feeling good about that.  I’m a little dejected that my progress is slow, pitifully so.  But I need to remember that slow progress is more likely to be permanent.  I just started Week 4 of the plan today and I alternate with some strength training upper body workouts on non-running days.

I’m looking forward to the half marathon later on in the year.  I will get to run that with my best friend from Tennessee.  We ran the Music City Half Marathon in 2007 together and barely survived! (LOL).  This year, we hope to do better than “just survive” over the finish line.  I’m training and she’s training too.  It’ll be good to see her and to achieve another monumental race together.  This year is going to be a monumental year if I have anything to say about it!

I didn’t make any new year’s resolutions.  I analyzed myself to figure out how I can best make a realistic (but challenging) goal and how I can best commit to achieving it.  What I did first is commit to running a half marathon.  Then I looked for a pre-made plan to begin training.  I found one and committed to it as I did on the 21 day fast I did at the beginning of the year.  If I can do a 21 day fast, I can commit to this training no problem.  So far, I am succeeding in remaining true to my commitment.  That is so very important to me.  My biggest challenge is my eating habits and losing weight.  I will overcome!  I have a husband who is extremely supportive, and a few close friends cheering me on quietly.  And my commitment to self is the backbone of it all.   I have nothing to be ashamed about considering all of this.

What are your goals?  What are you doing to make this year memorable?  Do you have a family that needs more of you?  Are you unhappy in your job and need a change of employment?  Are you stuck in a ‘box’ and need to get out?   Whatever the case may be, don’t let this year be “lukewarm.”  Challenge yourself.  Be bold!  Don’t fear commitment, jump in with both feet!  Get an accountability partner and accomplish something you can tell your grandkids about someday!

Have a wonderful first week of May everyone!

Most sincerely,

Steph

About stephsquared2010

A Mom of two boys. A wife to one man :-). A buyer by day, but a Reliv distributor by night. Looking to help others' standard of health, bring awareness to health issues, and bring financial opportunities to those who want it!
This entry was posted in Health and wellness, Sports and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

